The Background

Choosing a background for the minis you spend hours on is almost as important as painting them. Usually the approach is to display the minis with a white background, eBay style, with no shadows showing if possible, unless the mini is predominantly colored in white. Find out more about my ups and downs in this quest after the jump.

As you can see from my earlier posts I tried to imitate the white background effect for my minis by putting a white paper behind it and taking a shot with the camera on my phone. While the results are not terrible, I could do a lot better than this. So I tried to build a light box from scratch, using a few available sources on the web. The results were not really satisfactory: the camera was a point and shoot type and I’m not really a wizard when it comes to photography.

I ditched the idea for the while, looking for alternative solutions. That’s when I found out about dynamic backgrounds with blurred designs for all kinds of miniatures. Head on over to Massive Voodoo for a selection of such backgrounds. I took the neutral colors, light variant and printed it on a regular A3 printing paper. Here’s an example I took with the same camera with the same settings, with one daylight lamp from above:

The possessed marine I'm currently working on.

The possessed marine I’m working on.

For the moment I am content with the results. Until the moment I’m getting a professional camera on my own, the result will vary.

I hereby would like to ask all the photography enthusiasts about fixing my errors. What would you have done differently? Do you have any pointers about the camera settings? Any ideas about different backgrounds? Please share in the comments!

4 comments

  1. I really like the printed out background. Really makes him pop.

    A simple trick to use (when starting out), is to use a paper towel, or piece of paper hung loosely over a spotlight or light source. This diffuses the light, and takes away the harsh shadows on mini’s.

    For my battle reports, I have four diffuse light sources arranged around the room (cheap ikea lights with shades). It seems to work pretty well and make the photos pop. Helps that i have a DSLR too :).

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment! The thing is I already built a lightbox with similar properties to diffuse lights (I used Eidinger transparent papers) but I guess the camera didn’t pick up on the lighting. I’ll give it another go when I get my hands on a DSLR for sure!

      Like

      1. Oh! The photo is really good. I was mainly just dropping a line for anyone looking for a quick tip on improving lighting. You stuff looks great and can only get better with upgraded glass! (lens/camera).

        Like

Leave a Reply

