WIP: Possessed CSM #3

I see these little fellas have been neglected for some time now with the hype of getting the Heldrake ready for the competition. So I decided to give them the proper attention they really deserve, even though the casts are not the best, the idea of blending demon with armor and space marine skin is quite compelling to paint. Take a closer gander at the models and find out some thoughts after the jump.

Among the Possessed Chaos Space Marines I have to say my favorite model is the one that has a giant mouth for a torso. A close second are the ones that actually managed to grow wings during the painful process of possession. Thus I had to give these guys a little more attention and try a bit of blending techniques on the large flat surfaces that are pretty much the wing membranes. To achieve consistency with the other demon models I’m planning (the Bloodletters) these guys will primarily be red-skinned. This creates a few problems, however, as I’m still uncertain about what kind of wing image I want to portray on the models. Take a look at the options I’m considering:

In order to create a “vampire bat” image I can go with light-colored “arms” with dark membranes, or go for a dragon-like image that has darker arms and lighter, almost transparent membranes. Both options are appealing, but I need to decide on one of them for sure.

So far I did the base coat of Khorne Red on the black primed model (man, it is annoying how little coverage this red color has even though it is a base paint) to mark where the predominantly fleshy areas are. The wings I’m planning to color closer to brown, maybe darkened with a little black in there, and then decide if I want to highlight the “arms” or keep them dark as before.

I also realized to my horror that the “basecoat brush” I was using was really not up to the task and needs to be classified as “heavy-duty” or “disposable” from now on!

Standard GW brush. It never held a fine tip, now it splits into two when painting a raised line!

Standard GW brush. It never held a fine tip, now it splits into two when painting a raised line!

Based on what I decide to go with I’ll flesh out the wings on the other winged possessed marine in the squad:

"Hi, would you like to hear the words of our lord and tormentor, Khorne?"

“Hi, would you like to hear the words of our lord and tormentor, Khorne?”

And then that leaves me with finishing up Mr. Claws (those horns will be killer with proper blending) and taking care of… well, this guy:

They really didn't think much when they sculpted that face, did they?

They really didn’t think much when they sculpted that face, did they?

To be honest I did this model after I spent the best looking parts on other minis, and this left me with a “special” looking possessed that is not the most intimidating model in the arsenal. We’ll see how this one will pan out, though I’m not hoping for much in terms of beauty.

Let me know in the comments what you think about painting wings on similar models!

 

Leave a Reply

