WIP: CSM Obliterators #1

Quick but significant update today. I went back to the Obliterators to continue cleanup and assembly to the point where painting would not be prohibited. However I soon realized that the “short clean-up session” would turn into a much more complex situation. Check out my progress and struggle with these beauties after the jump.

Starting out with the arms I quickly removed the pieces from the sprues with the clipper. For some reason the shoulder plate trims have been designed somewhere close to paper-thin, which makes it absolutely necessary to clip a good distance away from the edge of the model and clean up later.

Never a welcome sight to see your cast is not as good as it seemed to be, but a good modeller should be able to make the best out of any situation. As gamers would say, less crying, more playing. Let’s see if I can at least conceal the errors on the model and then I’ll think of actual remedies like repairing the shoulder pads.

Next up I moved on to the bodies. As before, the plan was to assemble the chest and the legs together to form a nice, paint-friendly canvas. As before, the chest pieces and legs that are supposed to go together are packaged in their own sprues. Here’s the build-up phase:

Needless to say I was a little disappointed to see so many bubbles on delicate parts like chains, hoses and even fingers! This will test my patience to the limit it seems. But the rewards will be so much more when I’m done with them.

It’s always a good idea to do some research on how the models should look like before assembly by either checking other blogs, the net or the box art itself. I realized its importance when I clipped away the remaining Obliterator pieces from their sprues. Since the demonic flesh and the terminator armor fuses on so many places in indiscernible ways it is very difficult to figure out which part is sculpted detail or just some resin flash in hiding!

The GW paintjob is great, both as inspiration and as a way to check the parts on your models!

The GW paint job is great, both as inspiration and as a way to check the parts on your models!

 

Scrubbing the models with an old, soft toothbrush really helps getting rid of the excess however for the more stubborn pieces you have to carefully inspect every little millimeter on the pieces. It gets extra fun when looking at tiny pieces like faces!

An old cast but still conveys the agony these guys are in so well.

An old cast but still conveys the agony these guys are in so well.

Assemblies and model preparations are going better than expected. I like working with resin, much less resistance than plastic which suits my style of incremental, little changes. I find myself damaging plastic more due to the sheer force I apply during scraping, but resin was a much better medium in comparison.

And for the closing part some finished shots.

For the coming session I have some more assemblies going, but this may take more time to prepare than what I’ve been up to so far. Let’s see if I can handle that one as well before I start priming the models in the weekend.

See you next time!

6 comments

  1. Great overview of your current progress with the finecast obliterators. Thanks for all of the pictures and captions. They really illustrate a lot of your points well.

    I have only purchased a few models cast in finecast and have yet to actually finish prepping any of them…. I have not been impressed with the medium. It is rife with casting defects rarely or never found with plastic and metal models. All those tiny bubbles…

    Like

    1. I see what you mean. Hopefully with the plastic injection technology improving we’ll have quality models comparable to say, FW resin kits or smaller items. Until then, I guess the most detail we can achieve will be either with white metal or resin.

      I’m hoping to become a nice source for not-so-popular models and the Obliterators are one such kit. Even Google images doesn’t hold much for inspiration and I have yet to see an unboxing of the kit around.

      Glad you liked the narrative I tried to capture!

      Like

  2. That is a lot of work. Quick update…ha! That’s a huge chunk of time right there! Progress looks good, and as always, super excited to see the paint hit them…of course I haven’t painted anything in a week, so…good job Roemer!

    Like

    1. Well, looking at all the updates over the weeks I haven’t painted since finishing the Dreadknight! I have to get some primer over existing stuff but I just want to finish one more set of models and proceed to the painting stage.

      I just hope I can deliver taking into account all the hype I have built so far!

      Like

  3. Nice work. I started pinning legs ,arms ,heads etc with thin metal wire about a year ago and since then never looked back. It only takes seconds with a hobby drill and the joint is super strong. Give it a go 🙂

    Like

    1. Already there man! I don’t think any dynamic model with different centers of weight can afford to not have pins underneath.

      Come to think of it, I am amazed my Heldrake hasn’t broken down yet considering I haven’t pinned any part on it hmmm…

      Like

Leave a Reply

