Showcase: Grey Knights Nemesis Dreadknight

Wow, what an adventure this kit was. I got to test myself in lots and lots of new techniques (for me that is) and learned quite a bit from my mistakes. This is also the first model I commissioned (so to speak) so that taught me a few things too. Check out the last WIP session and a few 8 sided shots after the jump.

After last time’s wet blending session I learned quite harshly that using white with a mid-tone blue directly is not exactly a good idea. So for the rest of the blade I decided to put in an area of a 1:1 mix of Ultramarine Blue and Ceramite White, which gave me that ice-blue tone to ease the transition.

It all starts with the basecoats. In between there will be whites.

It all starts with the basecoats. In between there will be whites.

After this I put in the rest of the base colors and went to work. As expected, the transition with the mixed blue was a lot easier (I guess I’m getting faster too) and I was able to wrap up both sides of the blade section in no more than two hours.

Next up I finished the Daemonhammer, which was easier since there’s no force effect to apply. It was a simple task of drybrushing with Necron Compound on the most ribbed parts and fine edge highlight on the rest of the model with Chainmail (or new series Ironbreaker). The golds I highlighted with Shining Gold (new series Gehenna’s Gold) and Runefang Steel (thin it or you’ll turn it into silver).

I checked what I had done one last time… and what do you know, the model was complete!

The face of a happy painter, victorious after months of battling!

The face of a happy painter, victorious after months of battling!

And here are the 8 point shots. The weapons are magnetized, so I just swapped them between shots:

This one turned out to be a 10-point shot but you get the idea!

It’s been a while since I last published a showcase post (about 4.5 months, give or take!) so this was such a relief for me. It’s important to keep track of the projects that are still tagged WIP and finish them, especially for someone like me who is easily enthralled by new releases. Hopefully I’ll be a lot more swift when it comes to the other large projects like the Maulerfiend and the Spawn so I can have a pace of sorts.

For those who are interested I’ll be sharing my experience with the Greatsword as a tutorial in this space (titled wet blending), so stay tuned!

9 comments

  1. Roemer.
    This is one of the best dread knights I have ever seen. The sword is amazing, and just the frosting on the cake of a wonderfully painted model. The glazing work really shows some amazing color blending/texture on what is otherwise flat metallic surfaces. Very well done, definitely should be proud of this one.

    I know it’s for a friend (i think), but you should probably borrow it to enter in one of your next competitions!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words Greg, and thanks for sticking with me until the end of this project!

      Yeah, the model is for a fellow gamer. For the competition next year I’m putting together a different set of models (haven’t even started on them, which is a little troubling) and aim to set the standard even higher, but I appreciate your feedback nonetheless!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome!

        I have to admit, I have not given the “new” GW paints much thought, since I felt almost everything could be done just as well by other companies products, but now the glazes seem interesting! Did you dilute it or use it straight out of the pot?

        Like

      2. I diluted it for full effect. The ratio was somewhere like 1:2 medium to water. As I said, took my time with it. I also tried to finish an entire section at a time so I didn’t get any blend lines.

        Like

Leave a comment